Governor's Office of Indian Affairs

Contact Us

Office of Indian Affairs

State Capitol Building
2nd Floor, Room 202
PO Box 200801
Helena, Montana 59620
Phone: (406) 444-3702
Fax: (406) 444-1350

MT tribal ids

Montana Indian Law Portal

culture card pamphlet cover


Northern Cheyenne Tribe
PO Box 128 | 600 Cheyenne Avenue
Lame Deer, MT 59043

Phone: (406) 477-6284 | Fax: (406) 477-6210

Official Website:


northern cheyenne emblem Approximately 5,000 Northern Cheyenne, along with members of other tribes and with non-Native Americans, live on the reservation. Lame Deer is the tribal and government agency headquarters. There are four other districts that comprise the whole reservation.


The rugged country of the Northern Cheyenne Reservation is in southeastern Montana. It covers 445,000 acres and is bounded on the east by the Tongue River and on the west by the Crow Reservation.


Major employers include the St. Labre Indian School, the federal government, tribal government, power companies and construction companies. The education system, farming, ranching and small businesses contribute to the economy.


Chief Two Moons Monument

This historic monument was built in 1936 in memory of Chief Two Moons, who participated in the Battle of the Little Bighorn.


Northern Cheyenne Chamber of Commerce

The Chamber has a gift shop showcasing Native American art and beadwork. An RV Park is also available for overnight stays.

Lame Deer

Chief Dull Knife College

Associate's degrees in the Arts and Sciences are offered, along with vocational programs. The John Woodenlegs Memorial Library is a part of the college. Food service, library and gift shops are open to the public.

Lame Deer

St. Labre Indian School and Museum

This school was established in 1884 by the Franciscan Order. The visitor center, Cheyenne Indian Museum and Gift Store are important showplaces of Cheyenne heritage and art.


Constitution and By-Laws of the
Northern Cheyenne Tribe of the Northern Cheyenne Reservation

The Northern Cheyenne Tribal Council consists of members elected from each of the following districts: Ashland, Birney, Busby, Muddy, and Lame Deer. The President and the members of the Tribal Council serve four year staggered terms.

The current membership of the Northern Cheyenne Tribal Council include:

  • Llevando "Cowboy" Fisher, President 2012-2016
  • Winfield Russell, Vice-President 2012-2016
  • Adam Spang, Treasurer Appointed
  • Melissa Lonebear, Secretary Appointed
  • Donna Fisher, Council Member 2010-2014
  • Vacant, Council Member 2012-2016
  • L. Jace Killsback, Council Member 2010-2014
  • Jennie LaFranier, Council Member 2010-2014
  • Loranzy "Oly" McMakin, Council Member 2012-2016
  • Marlene Redneck, Council Member 2010-2014
  • Tracy Robinson, Council Member 2012-2016
  • Vernon Small, Council Member 2010-2014
  • Eloise E. Snow, Council Member 2012-2016
  • Merlin Sioux, Council Member 2012-2016


northern cheyenne emblem

  • The Northern Cheyenne Reservation encompasses 440,000 acres of land, with Lame Deer serving as tribal headquarters.
  • Nearly 55% of the 9,043 enrolled tribal members live on the reservation.
  • The tribe call themselves "Tsis tsis'tas" (Tse-TSES-tas) which means "the beautiful people".
  • The Cheyenne Nation is comprised of ten bands, spread all over the Great Plains, from southern Colorado to the Black Hills in South Dakota.
  • The economy is primarily supported by the federal government, tribal government, farming/ranching, and non-native/native owned businesses. The tribe is the largest employer on the reservation.
  • The tribe's annual celebrations include the Lame Deer 4th of July Pow Wow, Northern Cheyenne Memorial Day Celebration and the Ashland Labor Day Pow Wow.

Updated 8/30/13